Dr. L.K.V.D. College at Tajpur in Samastipur district of Bihar was established in September, 1969. It is a constituent College of L. N. Mithila University, Darbhanga. Since 1978 the College has been recognized by the University Grants Commission under section 2(f) and 12(B) of UGC Act., 1956.

The college has campus of 9.06 acres located in a rural and backward area. The College has basic infrastructure for the programmes run at present. It is an Undergraduate College offering three years UG courses in Arts, Science and Commerce leading to B.A., B.Sc. and B.Com degree of L.N. Mithila University, Darbhanga.

Steering Committee comprising of the five members has been constituted to prepare the Self Study Report. The committee has prepared the report through group discussions with its members and regular interactions with the Principal and the entire campus community. The report has been finalized with utmost sincerity, honesty and collective effort of the faculty members which is now being submitted to the NAAC for assessment and accreditation. The IQAC team interacted intensively with the Departments and also with the individual faculty members. The support and encouragement from various cells/ committees have also been praiseworthy. Keeping in view, the institution is looking forward for accrediting its status through NAAC for quality assurance.